Living islam way – sister Megan wyatt


image

We have to understand the difference between living authentically and living Islam.

People leave parts of what is required in Islam in order to be “authentic.”

“I’m not that pious of a Muslim, so I might as well stop looking like one and just shave my beard.”

“I wore the hijab because all my friends did back in high school, but I don’t really feel it’s me anymore, so I want to remove it.”

“I feel it’s more authentic for me to meditate than it is for me to perform Salah, so I’ll do that and trust that God appreciates my desire to be real.”

“I have a girlfriend, so really, there is no point in going to Jumu’ah. I would just be a huge hypocrite anyhow.”

I believe we should be authentic people, but we also have to contemplate if we are falling out of the authenticity of being a creation of God and a Muslim by our fitrah, and instead, choosing a path that feels “right” to us simply because it’s easier, because it’s what we want right now, and because we are too afraid to challenge our spiritual states, and do the work required to become who we need to be.

Instead of quitting on Islam or it’s acts of worship, the goal should be to seek to understand the knowledge behind them, and to keep seeking. An act of faith is required here combined with a heart full of absolute sincerity.

Anything less than that would be inauthentic to our very soul.

About AbdulJabarAzimi

Analytical & Creative. --- I'm not a Sheikh or a scholar, I'm just a regular guy in love with this Deen. Don't praise me for practicing my Deen. But pray for me, for the errors, that you haven't seen.

Posted on February 19, 2016, in Allah (God). Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. There’s a reason why everything you crave is forbidden is to save you from hurting yourself

Leave a Reply

