I remember a time in my life where I didn’t have big dreams..


10734103_893735370650624_305880419995771279_n

I remember a time in my life where I didn’t have big dreams. In fact, I wasn’t really dreaming at all. I lived day-to-day, looking for ways to meet my own needs of significance or love.

I had no idea what I really wanted in my life, and if I did, I was afraid to chart my own course to make it happen. The first day I realized that I was following the aspirations of those around me, instead of my own, I was in shock. I drove around for several hours, up and down the coast looking to get lost somewhere fast, with no direction to go in at all.

The drive was a good metaphor for my life. talk a lot about “dreaming big” and making big goals, but few people talk about the other side of that equation.

Most of us, as children have big dreams, expansive imaginations, and energy and hope that could fuel a spaceship to Mars.

The problem wasn’t the inability to dream big – the problem was about the beliefs, fears, and negative voices that became so loud, that the mind could no longer dream, or take action.

Dreaming big is exciting. Dreaming big, and making massive goals and never achieving them is depressing.

So what changed?

I did. I began to put myself into environments and experiences which would force me to stand on my own two feet. Instead of living through the accomplishments or success of others, I committed to creating my own.

Owning who I truly wanted to be. Not what a degree on the wall said, not what people expected, not what was comfortable and easy, like a costume I could slip into.

I wanted to own my vision, and with the help of Allah, seeking His pleasure, I starting taking those baby steps towards change.

This is where my coaching career began.

(continued via sister, Megan Wyatt)

About AbdulJabarAzimi

Analytical & Creative. --- I'm not a Sheikh or a scholar, I'm just a regular guy in love with this Deen. Don't praise me for practicing my Deen. But pray for me, for the errors, that you haven't seen.

Posted on January 30, 2015, in Islamic Quotes, Revert Stories. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

